The Kovenant

THE KOVENANT was formed by Nagash and Blackheart way back in 1993, as a sideproject from Troll. Originally called Covenant, the band changed the spelling to THE KOVENANT in 1999.

The first album, “In Times Before The Light”, was released in 1997.

The breakthrough came with “Nexus Polaris” in 1998, and the band now included new members in Hellhammer (Mayhem, Arcturus), Astennu (ex-Dimmu Borgir), Sverd (Arcturus and Sarah Jezebel Deva (ex-Cradle Of Filth). “Nexus Polaris” was hailed as an instant classic when it comes to symphonic black metal, and remains a milestone from that era.

The album won the Norwegian Grammy for best metal album.

For the third album, “Animatronic”, released in 1999, the band’s lineup changed again, with Nagash, Blackheart and Hellhammer moving forward. Musically, the band developed into a more industrial sound, yet still with a dark edge. Also this album won the Norwegian Grammy for best metal album.

A fourth studioalbum, “SETI”, was released in 2003, and the band toured Europe and USA with new members Küth (drums) and Brat (Apoptygma Berzerk).

The band reunited for an exclusive performance at Norway’s Inferno Metal Festival in 2010.

Come 2024, the band has decided to get together again to perform material from “Nexus Polaris” as well as “In Times Before The Light” and “Animatronic”, and the band will perform live on selected festivals during 2024 and 2025.

As for what the future holds for the reunited band – let’s wait and find out…

The Kovenant 2024 are:
Nagash – vocals, bass
Hellhammer – drums
Sverd – keyboards
Astennu – guitar
Sarah Jezebel Deva – vocals
Knut Valle – guitar

Contact us for booking.