SARKE started out as a one-person band. Sarke himself wanted to release a solo album, and his first choice to do the vocal parts was Nocturno Culto from the legendary Darkthrone.
SARKE´s debut album “Vorunah” was released 2009 and received very good critics around the world. After this there was a wish for SARKE live and Sarke had to come up with a live band. And what a line-up he achieved! N.C vocal, Asgeir Mickelson drums, Cyrus guitar, Steinar Gundersen guitar, Anders Hunstad keyboard and Sarke on bass. They come from bands like, Dimmu Borgir, Satyricon, Borknagar, Testament, Khold and more. It worked so well that they all joined to record the second SARKE release “Oldarhian” that was released in 2011. The third album “Aruagint” was released in 2013, with nine tracks of pure death rock madness.

SARKE ´s fourth release “Bogefod” released 2016 is a concept album. Based on the Eyrbyggja saga. It´s about a viking who dies, gets buried and breaks out of his tomb and terrorizes the village. Both SARKE and the story which the lyrics are based upon, took part in a full lengh movie called “Saga” where Nocturno Culto had a leading role. For this album SARKE had some line-up changes. One more guitarist in Stian Kråbøl, his brother Terje Kråbøl on drums and Espen Storø on keyboards.
The album was nominated for the Norwegian Grammy award for “best metal album”.

SARKEs fifth release, “Viige Urh” came in 2017. The album received raving reviews and a general praise from the metal media and fans.
In 2019, “Gastwerso” followed, and showed the band from a slightly different angle. Some of the music portrayed slower and more atmospheric moods, yet the SARKE trademarks were still intact.

All SARKE albums have been recorded at H-10 Production with 1970`s rockhead Lars-Erik Westby at the helm. SARKE have played concerts and festivals across Europe and in the US since 2009, and are now signed to Soulseller Records.
“Allsighr”, their seventh studioalbum, was released in 2021.

SARKE discography:
«Vorunah» (2009)
«Oldarhian» (2011)
«Aruagint» (2013)
«Bogefod» (2016)
«Viige Urh» (2017)
«Gastwerso» (2019)
“Allsighr” (2021)

Some statements from the press about SARKE:
“Slow black fvcking metal at its best”
“Ice cold, melodic and exquisite”
“Bloody brilliant”
“Devilish madness that defined the genre for years”

SARKE line-up:
Nocturno Culto – vocals
Sarke – bass, drums
Anders Hunstad – keyboards
Steinar Gundersen – guitar

Contact us for booking.